Territoire.jpg
Logo_R_regions.png

A Vast, Contrasted Territory

Quebec is immense and our territory includes forests as far as the eye can see, a river that is ocean-like, vast farmlands, mountainous regions, modern municipalities and historic villages, a great wild north and millions of kilometres of highways and rivers which constitute an invaluable source of drinking water. 

Together, we have built a diversified economy, from developing our mining and forestry resources to aerospace technology, agriculture, fishing, tourism, culture, engineering and the export of hydroelectricity.

Quebec is a land of geographical, social and economic contrasts. That is why it is inconceivable to want to apply uniform regulations and ways of doing things.

Abitibi-Témiscamingue’s reality is not the same as that of Sherbrooke, Montreal’s needs are not those of the Côte-Nord. The economies of Laval and Gaspésie and the Îles de la Madeleine do not develop in the same way or in the same sectors.

tourisme.jpg
shutterstock_1105918046.jpg

The Charter for Regions offers a general framework by virtue of which the government’s actions- bills, regulations, initiatives or programs from different ministries, economic and fiscal incentives- will be adapted to each region’s reality.  

By modulating the government’s interventions according to each region’s specificities, the Charter for Regions will be a tool to allow us to put an end to wall-to-wall applications and give each region the means to reach their full potential.

The Charter for Regions is based on three major principles which will be entrenched in a law.

Territoire.jpg
Logo_R_regions.png

Un territoire vaste et contrasté

Le Québec est vaste et notre territoire comprend des forêts à perte de vue, un fleuve aux allures d’océan, de grandes terres agricoles, des régions montagneuses, des municipalités modernes et des villages historiques, un Grand Nord immense et des millions de kilomètres de routes et de rivières constituant notamment une réserve d’eau potable inestimable.

Ensemble, nous avons bâti une économie diversifiée : de l’agriculture à la technologie aérospatiale, en passant par l’exploitation de nos ressources minières et forestières, la pêche, le tourisme, la culture, l’ingénierie et l’exportation d’hydroélectricité.

Le Québec est une terre de contrastes géographiques, sociaux et économiques. C’est pour cette raison qu’il est inconcevable de vouloir lui appliquer des règles et des façons de faire uniformes.

La réalité de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue n’est pas celle de Sherbrooke. Les besoins de Montréal ne sont pas ceux de la Côte-Nord. L’économie de Laval et de la Gaspésie et des Îles-de-la-Madeleine ne se développe pas de la même façon, ni dans les mêmes secteurs.

tourisme.jpg
shutterstock_1105918046.jpg

La Charte des régions propose un cadre général en vertu duquel les actions du gouvernement — projets de loi, règlements, initiatives ou programmes des différents ministères, incitatifs économiques et fiscaux — seront adaptées à la réalité de chaque région.

En modulant les interventions du gouvernement en fonction des particularités de chaque région, la Charte des régions se veut un outil pour nous permettre de mettre fin au mur-à-mur, et de donner à chaque région les moyens d’atteindre son plein potentiel.

La Charte des régions repose sur trois grands principes qui seront enchâssés dans une loi-cadre.