Regionalized Governance

SECTION 1
Capture d’écran, le 2022-04-19 à 21.46.17.png

The Quebec Liberal Party will undertake a major cultural transformation within the State by adopting “regional reflexes”, an approach advanced by the Fédération Québécoise des Municipalités. In this way, each time the government has to make a decision, it will need to consider the decision’s impact on regional diversity.

These regional ministers must be held accountable to their fellow citizens, as well as be entrusted with the means to fulfill their mission. Thus, to endow each region with clear power to act, we will establish a secretariat in each region, which will be able to rely on a team of civil servants under the leadership of a deputy minister who is responsible for the region.

Capture d’écran, le 2022-04-19 à 22.03.41.png
Capture d’écran, le 2022-04-19 à 21.55.28.png

So that public administration is accountable to regional stakeholders, it is also important to officially recognize and support the government’s key contacts, those who will interact on a day-to-day basis with the regional secretariats. The rapid abolition of the Conférences Régionales des Élus unfortunately hurt several regions and ecosystems which were built around these organizations. We cannot, however, return to the past or repeat its errors. We are not interested in reshuffling regional structures. The regions have since developed their own regional consultation tools, which we must now recognize.

To that effect, it is a pity to note that the current government has not used the Table Québec-Régions which was established by the Act to advise the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing on issues that affect Quebec’s regions. This refusal to recognize the importance of the consultation mechanism created to take the pulse of the municipalities is unfortunate. That is why the Quebec Liberal Party would mobilize the Table Québec-Régions.

That is why we will undertake a major review of the municipal and land-use planning legislative framework. The complexity and obsolete nature of the current framework make a major overhaul necessary. Quebec’s Municipal Code- whose adoption dates to the 19th century— continues to govern 875 municipalities. There are over 60 laws that municipalities must currently be considered as part of their administration. We will seek to simplify measures, as well as to include previously agreed upon delegations of power with the municipalities.

Capture d’écran, le 2022-04-19 à 21.58.09.png

We have too often seen recent initiatives- for example residential constriction or municipal development projects- which have been constrained by the rigidity of development planning. A review of the legislative framework should include the possibility of asymmetry in the development of particular norms or regulations.

 

The realities of the Greater Montreal Areas are not those of the Bas-St-Laurent region, for example. We therefore cannot consider the development of the regions in a monolithic manner and must offer local stakeholders more of a say in the process.  

Finally, reducing municipalities administrative burden needs to become a concern again. Our local governments need to send less paperwork to Quebec City and offer more services to their citizens.

Regionalized
governance

Supporting local governments

Driving regional
economies

Une gouvernance régionalisée

AXE 1
Capture d’écran, le 2022-04-19 à 21.46.17.png

Le Parti libéral du Québec opérera un grand changement de culture au sein de l’État en adoptant un « Réflexe régions », approche mise de l’avant par la Fédération québécoise des municipalités. Ainsi, à chaque fois que le gouvernement prendra une décision, il devra tenir compte de son impact sur la diversité régionale.

Il faut rendre les ministres régionaux plus imputables envers leurs concitoyens, tout en leur donnant les moyens pour remplir cette mission. Ainsi, pour donner à chaque région un pouvoir d’action clair, nous allons instaurer un secrétariat par région, lequel comptera sur l’appui d’une équipe de fonctionnaires, dirigée par un sous-ministre responsable de la région.

Capture d’écran, le 2022-04-19 à 22.03.41.png
Capture d’écran, le 2022-04-19 à 21.55.28.png

Pour que l’administration publique soit davantage imputable aux acteurs du milieu régional, il est aussi important de reconnaître officiellement et de soutenir les interlocuteurs privilégiés du gouvernement, ceux qui interagiront au jour le jour notamment avec les secrétariats régionaux. L’abolition rapide des Conférences régionales des élus et des Centres locaux de développement a malheureusement fait mal aux régions et aux écosystèmes qui s’étaient bâtis autour de ces organisations. Il ne faut cependant pas vivre dans le passé ni en répéter les erreurs. Nous ne souhaitons pas faire un rebrassage de structures régionales. Les régions ont depuis développé leurs propres outils régionaux de concertation qu’il faut maintenant reconnaître.

À cet égard, il est dommage de constater que le présent gouvernement n’a pas utilisé la Table Québec-Régions prévue à la loi pour conseiller le ou la ministre des Affaires municipales et de l’Habitation sur les enjeux affectant les régions du Québec. Ce refus de reconnaître l’importance d’un mécanisme de concertation prévu pour prendre le pouls des municipalités est regrettable. C’est pourquoi le Parti libéral du Québec mobilisera la Table Québec-Régions.

C’est pourquoi nous opérerons un grand chantier de révision du cadre législatif municipal et d’aménagement du territoire. La vétusté et la complexité du cadre en place rendent nécessaire cette refonte en profondeur. Le Code municipal du Québec — dont l’adoption date du XIXe siècle — régit toujours 875 municipalités. Plus de 60 lois doivent actuellement être considérées par les municipalités dans leur administration. Nous viserons à simplifier les mesures, mais aussi à y inclure des délégations de pouvoirs qui auront été préalablement convenues avec les municipalités. 

Capture d’écran, le 2022-04-19 à 21.58.09.png

Nous avons vu trop souvent ces derniers temps des initiatives — par exemple des constructions de logements ou de développement municipal — freinés par la rigidité des plans d’aménagement. La révision devra inclure une possibilité d’asymétrie dans l’élaboration de certaines normes ou certains règlements.

 

La réalité de la couronne de Montréal n’est pas la même qu’au Bas-Saint-Laurent. Nous ne pouvons donc pas voir de façon monolithique l’aménagement de ces régions et les acteurs locaux doivent avoir plus à dire dans cet exercice.

Finalement, alléger le fardeau administratif des municipalités doit redevenir une préoccupation. Nos gouvernements de proximité doivent envoyer moins de paperasse à Québec et plus de services aux citoyens.

Une gouvernance régionalisée

Soutenir les gouvernements de proximité

Propulser les économies régionales